Danish Government Briefed on Syria Transition Roadmap

Ziadeh and Senior Danish Officials Discuss Plan for Post-Assad Transition

Washington, DC – On December 5, 2013, Syrian Center for Political and Strategic Studies (SCPSS) Executive Director Dr. Radwan Ziadeh was invited to Copenhagen, Denmark by the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs to give a presentation on Syria Transition Roadmap, a document recently published by SCPSS and the Syrian Expert House detailing the Syrian opposition’s vision of the post-Assad democratic transition in Syria.


Dr. Ziadeh met with senior representatives of the Danish Foreign Ministry to outline key aspects of the report, including constitutional reform, political and administrative reform, electoral reform, security sector reform, economic reform, and transitional justice and national reconciliation. During the briefing Ziadeh outlined plans for the implementation of the report’s recommendations, particularly with regard to rule of law, security sector reform, and transitional justice.


Additionally, Dr. Ziadeh, who was recently appointed head of the Transitional Justice Commission for Syria by the opposition Syrian Interim Government, outlined for the ministry his plans for initiating a comprehensive transitional justice program across the liberated areas of Syria. Dr. Ziadeh also thanked the Danish government for its continued generous support of the Syrian people.


On Friday, December 6, 2013 Dr. Radwan Ziadeh was a guest at Lund University’s “48H of Syria” conference. Dr. Ziadeh participated in a panel entitled “Protecting the Syrian people and then what? Future scenarios for Syria.” During his presentation, Dr. Ziadeh gave an update on events on the ground in Syria, discussed Syria Transition Roadmap, and gave an overview of future transitional justice and national reconciliations options for Syria.


Syria Transition Roadmap is the result of a year-long consensus-building research process conducted by the Syrian Expert House, a group of approximately 300 Syrian human rights activists, academics, judges, lawyers, leaders of the political opposition, defected government officials, defected military officers, members of local revolutionary councils, and commanders of the armed opposition.